Introduction of User Types

Valsight is licensed based on the number of named users. A named user is any natural person authorized by the customer to use the software under the terms stated in the overarching Valsight Agreements.

The maximum number of users is defined by the license. The licensed users are differentiated by user types, whereas each type allows users to use different parts of the application. The current usage and capacity can be viewed on the license page by system admins.

Supported user types: 

  1. Analyst/Basic User: Can access Simulation Workspaces and build Charts, but not change any data (no Scenario Manager access). Can view and create presentations.

  2. Simulation User: Same as the Analyst/Basic User + can access Simulation Workspaces, change data in the Scenario Manager, and use Workflows.

  3. Model User: Same as Simulation User + can create and edit projects, Models, Dimensions, and Data Sources and use and edit Workflows.

  4. Unrestricted User: Same as Model User + can be a Global Admin which lifts all restrictions and enables full access, e.g. to settings and configuration.

Note: User types only impose restrictions on top of access rights, users still need to be given specific rights for each project/Model/Workspace/presentation/Workflow that they want to access. Additionally, this also means that users with a restricted user type (e.g. being a reader) will not be able to open a project although they have been given access to it.

Valsight Access Management

While there are 4 types of licenses, Valsight offers additional options on how to further define access rights for advanced customization among users.  

Places to edit the Valsight Access Management

Licenses

The initial access rights for each user are defined by the license type. Being able to choose between 4 different types of users, enables individually composed license packages. 

Valsight settings

Access rights

The access rights settings can be reached via the Valsight settings. Here, permissions can be granted in an overview of projects, Models, Workspaces and presentations. Learn more.

User management

The user management can be reached via the Valsight settings. Here, you can edit the permissions of each individual user. Learn more.

Group management

The group management can be reached via the Valsight settings. Here, access rights can be provided by assigning users to groups. Learn more.

Data permission classes

The data permission classes can be reached via the Valsight settings under 'Projects > Security'. Data permissions define which data a user can access. They can be configured for a project and will be enforced for Charts in Simulation Workspaces. Learn more.

Overview of User Type Access Limitations

Information

  • The premise for users to have the access rights mentioned in the table below is that the according access rights have been granted.

    • The table shows the maximum possible access for a specific license type. To reach that maximum, proper access rights have to be given.

  • The unrestricted user has the same abilities as a Model User except for the ability to be a global admin.

The access to projects, models and workspaces can further be split into 2 levels each. This enables the split between users actively working in a space and users viewing the space for information purposes.

  • By creating a new project (as any eligible user type) you automatically become the project admin for the respective project.

Project

Model

Workspace

Use

(Project/Global) Admin

Can view

Can edit

(Project/Global) Admin

Limited access

Full access

(Project/Global) Admin

In the table below, we only focused on those limitations that have a direct influence on the user type. 

Analyst/Basic User

Simulation User

Model User

Unrestricted User

Project

(Creating a project automatically makes you that project’s admin)

Use

Use

Use

Project Admin

Global Admin

  • Cannot see project overview

  • Cannot access Valsight settings

    • even as project admin

  • Cannot see project overview

  • Cannot access Valsight settings

    • even as project admin

  • Can see the project

  • Can create projects

  • Can see project overview

  • Can edit/create projects

  • Can access Valsight settings and change access rights

  • Full access to projects

    • Can see project overview

    • Can access and edit the project

    • Can create/delete users and groups

Model

Read-Only/Can View

Read-Only/Can View

Read-Only/Can View

Can Edit

Project Admin

Global Admin

AVAILABLE SINCE 5.5.0

  • Can access the model in a read-only mode

    • Not able to edit anything

AVAILABLE SINCE 5.5.0

  • Can access the model in a read-only mode

    • Not able to edit anything

AVAILABLE SINCE 5.5.0

  • Can access the model in a read-only mode

    • Not able to edit anything

  • Can see the Model

  • Can access and edit the Model

  • Can see the Model

  • Can access and edit the Model

  • Can create Models

  • Full access to Models

    • Can see the Models

    • Can access and edit Models

    • Can create Models

Workspace

Limited Access

Limited Access

Full Access

Limited Access

Full Access

Project Admin

Global Admin

  • Cannot edit assumptions 

  • Cannot activate/deactivate assumptions in the Scenario Manager

  • Can edit/change Workspaces

  • Cannot interact with the Scenario Manager

  • Can edit/change workspaces

  • Can interact with the Scenario Manager

    • activate/deactivate assumptions/ scenarios

  • Can change access rights for workspaces

  • Can edit/change workspaces

  • Cannot interact with the Scenario Manager

  • Can edit/change Workspaces

  • Can interact with the Scenario Manager

    • activate/deactivate Assumptions/ scenarios

  • Can edit/change Workspaces

  • Can interact with the Scenario Manager

    • activate/deactivate Assumptions/ scenarios

  • Can change access rights for Workspaces

  • Full access to Workspaces

    • Can edit/change Workspaces

    • Can interact with the Scenario Manager

    • Can change access rights for Workspaces

Data Source

Limited Access/Full Access

Limited Access/Full Access

Project Admin

Standard

Project Admin

Global Admin

  • No access to Data Sources

  • No access to Data Sources

AVAILABLE SINCE 5.3.0

  • Can see Data Sources

  • Can update/edit Data Sources

  • Can see Data Sources

  • Cannot edit Data Sources

  • Can see Data Sources

  • Can change/delete/edit/upload Data Sources

  • Full access to Data Sources

    • Can see Data Sources

    • Can edit Data Sources

Data Permission Class

  • No access to data permission classes

  • No access to data permission classes

  • No access to data permission classes

Project Admin

Global Admin

  • Can see data permission classes

  • Can change/delete/edit data permission classes

  • Full access to data permission classes

Dimension

  • No access to Dimensions

  • No access to Dimensions

  • No access to Dimensions

Project Admin

Global Admin

  • Can see the Dimensions

  • Can change/delete/edit Dimensions

  • Full access to Dimensions

Workflow

AVAILABLE SINCE 5.3.0

  • Can promote/demote Workflow steps via the Workflow page

  • Can use Workflows, Workflow steps, Workflow states and Workflow statuses

  • Can use Workflows, Workflow steps, Workflow states and Workflow statuses

  • Can promote/demote Workflow steps when given required permissions

  • Can create/edit Workflows

  • Can create Workflow steps

  • Can configure Workflow steps 

  • Can promote/demote Workflow steps

  • Full access to Workflows

    • Can create/edit Workflows

    • Can create Workflow steps

    • Can configure Workflow steps 

    • Can promote/demote Workflow steps

Presentations

  • Can view presentations

  • Can create presentations

  • Can view presentations

  • Can create presentations

  • Can view presentations

  • Can create presentations

Global Admin

  • Full access to presentations

    • Can view/create presentations

    • Can change access rights to presentations

Can be Global Admin

No

No

No

Yes

Advanced Configuration

User types are chosen when creating an account and can also be changed later. Disabled users do not count towards the limit. If you have reached the capacity for a certain type and create a new user, that user will be created as disabled. Enabling a user is allowed as long as you don't exceed the capacity of that user's type. When logging in via SSO and auto-creating users, the default type of a new account is unrestricted but can be changed by modifying the 'autoCreatedUserType' option from the config.yml (see Common SSO Options).


Contact

You may contact the Valsight Customer Support via:

+49 30 46799042

support@valsight.com

Availability: Mon-Fri *, 9 AM to 5 PM (Berlin, Germany) .

*Except Public holidays in Berlin, Germany.