Basic Overview

The data preview is part of the operations/formula editor in a Model. 

It enables a first overview over the data of a Node.

You as a user are able to check the displayed data before for example continuing to work on your Model. 

Furthermore, the data preview allows continuous cross-checks to validate the effects of functions and calculations.

Functionalities

Level filter

You can set individual filters for every available level in this table.

By opening the dropdown menu of a level on either of the axes, the user is able to filter out the available level values.

Buttons AVAILABLE SINCE 5.0.4

Clear All

The 'Clear All' - button removes all set level filters and all levels from the axes. 

This will provide you an aggregated view on the data, based on the selected aggregation type which can be set in the upper left corner of the table.

Apply All

The 'Apply-All' - button applies all available levels to the axes (time in columns; all other level in rows) and removes all set level filters. 

That function leads to the most detailed data preview.

Clear All Filters

The 'Clear All Filters' - button removes all set level filters. 

Save

The 'Save' - button saves all current data preview configurations (levels on axes, level filters,...).

These configurations are not only saved for the data preview of this one Node, but for all Models of a Project. This enables you as a user to apply the same filters to multiple Nodes when for example doing drill-downs.

Restore

The 'Restore' - button restores the last saved data preview configurations and applies them in the selected data preview. This can not only be done in the same data preview, the configurations have been saved in, but in every data preview of the same Project with at least one equal level. 

In case of Nodes having only 2 overlapping levels, saved configurations only apply to those 2 overlapping levels. 

Additional Project setting for data preview

Valsight provides the administrator of a Project with the ability to implement a cell limit for the data preview. In case that a data preview exceeds this cell maximum, the data is automatically aggregated to a summed up total.

That allows a cleaned up and improved data overview. 

The setting can be found under the Valsight settings > Settings under the heading 'Calculations'. Its called "featureFlags.DataPreviewShowsSumsByDefault".

The default maximum cell number is set to 100.000.

Example

To simplify the effect of each button, they will be explained based on an example.

For the following example, an imaginary automobile Project is used. The time horizon is 2019-2030.

The Model contains the following levels and level values:

Level

Level value

Explanation

Vehicle Class

SUV

Sedan

Model

Fast SUV Y

Grand SUV X

FamilyFirst Sedan 2

Fancy Sedan 1

Engine

BEV

Battery Electric Vehicle

ICE

Internal Combustion Engine

PHEV

Plug-In Hybrid Electric Vehicle

The context of the example, is that the data preview shows the price per car, based on their vehicle class, their Model, and their engine over the time horizon. 

There is no increase in prices over that horizon. 

Starting Point 

The starting point for the example is the initial data preview, without any filters or aggregations.

Clear All

The 'Clear All' - function aggregates the data to summed up totals and reduces the data overview to a minimum amount of data for a better overview.

In this example, the data preview is aggregated to the total costs over the time horizon for both vehicle classes.

This function overwrites level filters and axis configurations.

Apply All

The 'Apply All' - function applies all available levels to the according axes and removes all level filters. 

In this example, filters for the 'Vehicle Class' and the 'Engine' have been set. Via the 'Apply All' buttons these filters are resetted. 

Furthermore, levels have been reconfigured/shifted on the axes. Via the 'Apply All' - function, these configurations are also resetted and the available levels are applied to their respective axes. 

After using the 'Clear All'- function, the 'Apply All' - function applies all available levels back to their axes.

Clear All Filters

For the 'Clear All Filters' - function, the filters have been set on 'Years' (show 2019, 2020) and 'Engine' (show BEV).

With 'Clear All Filters', those filters are resetted back so showing all available level values.

Save and Restore

The 'Save' and 'Restore' functions work hand in hand. 

In the following example, level filters have been set on the vehicle class (show SUV), the Engine (show BEV), and the Year (show 2021 - 2024).

These configurations have been saved. 

After continuing to work on the data preview with several filters, the previously saved configurations have been restored via the 'Restore' - button.

This restoring can not only be done in the same data preview, but for the data preview of all Nodes of the Project. 

The 'Save' and 'Restore' functions are user bound. That allows user A to save and restore different data configurations than user B.


FAQs

Frequently asked questions can be found here

Contact

You may contact the Valsight Customer Support via:

+49 30 46799042

support@valsight.com

Availability: Mon-Fri *, 9 AM to 5 PM (Berlin, Germany) .

*Except Public holidays in Berlin, Germany.